Press Release

At the 2009 United Nations Human Rights Council Universal Periodic Review (UPR) of Nigeria, the federal government supported among other several recommendations to institutionalize a National Consultative Forum to promote dialogue in the field of human rights. The Annual Human Rights Summit will therefore provide the platform for human rights stakeholders to meet annually to put into proper perspectives various issues concerning the promotion, protection and enforcement of human rights in Nigeria.

The National Human Rights Commission therefore cordially invites Governments, MDA’s, Civil Society Organizations, Development Partners, Security Agencies and other relevant bodies to the 2019 Human Rights Summit/Awards.

The Summit is expected to provide an opportunity for the review of Nigeria’s performance with reference to the protection and promotion of human rights by relevant stakeholders and will serve as an imperative strategy for policy appraisal, and agenda setting in the area of human rights.

  • The President of Federal Republic of Nigeria Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR (Special Guest of Honour) is expected to give the keynote address. Also expected at the summit are the Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, GCON (Guest of Honour), the Chief Justice of the Federation, the Senate President, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Attorney General & Minister of Justice, the Minister of Federal Capital Territory, and the Minister of Foreign Affairs amongst others.

Participants will be drawn from Federal and State Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), UN Agencies and Development Partners, Civil Society Organizations, Media, Academia, organized private sector (OPS), women and youth groups, and Faith-based organizations (FBO), etc


As part of activities slated for the 2019 Human Rights Summit, the National Human Rights Commission is presenting Human Rights Awards to individuals, Federal/State agencies and Corporate Institutions

  1. Members of the public are hereby invited to nominate persons, MDAs and corporate institutions that merit the award bearing in mind the underlisted criteria.


  • The impact of the nominee’s work or contribution in improving the understanding and respect for human rights;
  • The impact of the nominee’s contribution in eliminating social injustice, discriminatory attitudes and practices;
  • The impact of the nominee’s work in promoting, protecting, defending, monitoring and reporting human rights abuse/violations;
  • The impact of the nominee’s work in creating an enabling environment conducive to the enjoyment of human rights and sustainable development;
  • The amount of energy, industry, time and resources spent by the nominee in the promotion and protection of human rights in the country;
  • The risk of negative consequences faced by the nominee in the cause of his or her work;
  • The extent to which the approach employed in the work of the nominee is responsive to the needs and rights of the people; and
  • The impact of the nominee’s work in addressing human rights violations in the society.


Date:       December 8th 2019

Venue:     Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Zone 4 Wuse, Abuja.

Time:       4:00PM (Guests to be sitted by 3:30PM)

Nominations should be addressed to:

The Executive Secretary,

National Human Rights Commission,

No. 19 Aguiyi Ironsi Street, Maitama,


Or the following sites.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



December 8th 2019

1. Individual category

a. Eze Onyekpere

b. Femi Falana, SAN

c. Clement Nwakwo

d. Joe Odunmakin (F)

e. Hamsatu All-amin (F)

f. Ayishatu Yesufu (F)

g. Joy Ezeilo (F)

h. Justice C. C. Nweze (JSC)

i. Justice Amina Adamu Augie (JSC)

j. Chinonye Obiagwu

2. Federal/State Agencies

a. Federal Ministry of Agriculture & Natural Resources;

b. Federal Ministry of Works and Housing;

c. Nigeria Immigration Service;

d. Nigeria Correctional Service;

e. Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria;

f. Federal Housing Authority;

g. Federal Government Staff Housing Loan Board;

h. Institute of Peace and Conflict Resolution;

i. Bank of Industry;

j. National Assembly;

k. Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission;

l. Ekiti State government;

m. Lagos State government;

n. Kano State government;

o. Kebbi State government;

p. Akwa Ibom State government;

q. Ebonyi State government.

3. Corporate Institutions

a. Tony Elumelu Foundation;

b. T. Y. Danjuma Foundation;

c. Ford Foundation;

d. Mac Arthur Foundation;

e. OSIWA Foundation;

f. CLEEN Foundation;

g. United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (UNHCR);

h. United Nations Development Programme (UNDP);

i. International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC);

j. United Nations Fund for Population Activities (UNFPA);

k. United Nations Office of Drugs and Crime (UNODC);

l. United Nations Children Emergency Fund (UNICEF);

m. Partners West Africa (PWAN);

n. Rule of Law Accountability Centre (ROLAC).


Executive Secretary,

National Human Rights Commission